Monday, 14 March 2016

Shiromani Awards 2016

On 12th March 2016, the icons of Punjab’s culture were awarded Shiromani Awards for the years, 2012, 2013 and 2014. The event took place at the Punjabi University and saw eminent personalities from the art, literature and culture categories. Before this, the awards took place on 17th November 2012. It was long due that the literature experts were awarded with the deserved recognition, therefore the government planned to hold an event for the last three years, together.

Shiromani Awards 2016 - Shiromani Akali Dal, Punjab Insight
Surjit Singh Rakhra, the Minister for Punjab Higher Education was the chief guest of the function, whereas DrJaspal Singh, Vice Chancellor of Punjabi University was the guest of honour. A total of 54 personalities were given the award, out of which, Kirpal Singh Kasel, Ajmer Aulakh and Niranjan Singh Tasneem were given the most prestigious award of the night, Punjabi Sahit Rattan along with a cash prize of Rs. 10 lakh. There were 17 other categories of awards distributed at the end, and were given to 51 other personalities for the last three years along with a prize money of Rs. 5 lakh.

Special awards were given to the notable people, like, Devinder Singh Chitarkar and Raghbir Singh Bains, who were honoured with prize money of Rs. 1.50 lakh each. Whereas PanditRaoThairesanwar, RanjitRana, Malkit Singh GuaraBachan Singh Saral were also awarded with the special awards along with a prize money of Rs. 1 lakh each.

These kinds of award ceremonies are a great sign of encouragement to people of Punjab, to promote the culture and literature of the state and protect it from losing its significance in today’s modernity. This is the soul of Punjab, which we should take forward with each passing generation. The Shiromani Punjabi Singer awards were also distributed at the ceremony and for the last three years, it was given to, Mohd. Sadiq, Gurdas Mann and SurinderShinda.

The day of the award ceremony was so planned that it coincided with inauguration of the Punjabi Week, which also marks to be a great part of the culture of Punjab. The award for Punjabi BalSahit Writer were given to SantoshSahni, Aatma Singh Chitti and Amrik Singh Talwandi. In the journalism sector, the award for Shiromani Punjabi Patarkar Award was given to Amar Singh Bhuller, Harjinder Singh Lal and BhushanSood.

No comments:

Post a Comment